Digital Story Critique #6, Week6 – image mashup

WIlly Wonka - vegan

Digital stories can be as simple as a image. This image is from the 2005 Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory with a vegan message added. Drawing upon the “remix practices” and “literacy dimensions” highlighted by Lankshear and Knobel in Chapter 4 and reviewing the appendix (p. 127-140), I’ll be critiquing this Photoshopped image remix .

The kind of remix that I feel this best fits in with image is the ‘Photoshopping remix’. In my opinion, the creator is using an image from a well-known movie to visually express how a vegan sees/feels about McDonald’s.    .

The 3 “literacy dimensions”  I will use to structure my critique (based on the chapter 4 appendix, p.134) are:

  1. Knowing how to import an image into an image editor
  2. Understanding how to create a recognizably meaningful juxtapostition of images
  3. Being able to match camera angle, colours and resolutions etc. when adding cropped photographic elements to a base image.

Knowing how to import an image into an image editor 10/10
In order to create this meme the creator obviously had to know how to capture the image and modify it.

Understanding how to create a recognizably meaningful juxtapostition of images 8/10
This image is from a movie with a strong candy (mostly non-vegan) theme and the message is clearly vegan. The particular image, person with an awkward expression combined with the message is overall effective. The viewer get the clear sense that vegans and McDonald’s don’t really mix.

Being able to match camera angle, colours and resolutions etc. when adding cropped photographic elements to a base image. 6/10
The resolution of this image is poor. Very grainy and a bit blurry. The bold black header and footer blocks contrast with the poor quality of the image but help to make the message stand out.

Overall score: 24/30

Though this meme image is not great quality visually, the message is clear and funny. I would expect the reason to create this is for simple humor and to visually show a vegan perspective.

6 thoughts on “Digital Story Critique #6, Week6 – image mashup

  1. Hi Amelia,

    Great critique, I agree with you the quality of the image is a bit poor but definitely does get the message across. I would also argue, the meme could be used outside of a vegan message and can be used as disgust for fast food in general! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amelia,
    I love this “juxtapose” as you said of this picture as well. A candy themed movie discussing the life of a vegan – very cool. I wonder if the meme didn’t have the “vegan problems” on it though if anyone would know it is about being vegan. I didn’t get that message at first so I wonder if they could have adjusted it to come across more clear.

    Either way, this made me laugh. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Erin, I completely see your point. It was a ‘Clearly Vegan” message for me, as that was what I was searching for, but if the viewer skips or didn’t see the ‘vegan issues’ message then it isn’t a clear vegan message, but as Lee pointed out above, it could definitely work as an image for disgust in fast food in general.

      Like

  3. […] This mashup image is a new favorite of mine. I watched this version of Willy Wonka and really didn’t care for it. Johnny Depp’s portrayal of Willy Wonka absolutely bugged me. I think it was because of expressions and mannerisms shown here in this image that turned me off. However, when I saw it combined with a vegan and/or anti-fast food  message I loved it. This expression fits so very well with the disgust of fast food.  Prior to me deciding to go vegan, I ate at McDonalds quite a lot. It was a fast breakfast and hot coffee that I could eat during my 45 minute commute into work. After going vegan, I thought hey I can eat their oatmeal in the morning, but sadly no. Their packaged oatmeal contains dairy. So no Mcdonalds or fast food really for this girl anymore. I’m sure I make this face, when someone asks if  was to join them for lunch and they are going to a fast food place. Vegan issues image […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

