Response to L&K – Week4, Chapter 4: New literacies and social practices of digital remixing

new Literacies

New Literacies: Everyday Practices and Social Learning by Colin Lankshear and Michele Knobel, is divided into 3 parts;

  • Part 1: New Literacies: Concepts and Theory
  • Part 2: New Literacies: Some Everyday Practices
  • Part 3: New Literacies and Social Learning

Below is my response to Chapter 4, which falls under Part 2.

There is a ton of information in this chapter, but I am going to focus my response on music remixing and creating serviceware mashups.

As I began reading this chapter, my mind kept going to different remix songs that came out as I was growing up. Music is what I instantly thought of when I read the title of this chapter “. . . digital remixing” but as I was reading I realized music is just a small, small piece of today’s technology that can be remixed/mashed up.  As I was typing that last sentence, I started thinking about a movie that came out a few years back with the sequel earlier this year, Pitch Perfect. The movie follows a capella groups as they compete for a national title, sequel is a different title but you get the idea. As these groups prepare for their performances during these competitions, they would mashup different songs that fit together to create a new song/sound. The lead character also remixes music as a hobby/career, which then leads to her help her group to mashup new, current, music/songs to become successful in winning these titles. Sorry, if I just ruined the endings of these movies for you, but to be honest they are kind of predictable.

Creating serviceware mashups is basically creating new online interface serviceware application out of existing services that didn’t previously meet the needs of the users. Mashing up applications gives users the ability to meet specific purposes adding value to the tools. Some examples of these types of application programming interfaces (APIs) include Panoramio.com, Twittervision.com, and Wikipediavision. (page 107)

A valued mashup combines the best of both worlds of these applications. With Panoramio.com a user can find images of a certain place or explore an area where a specific picture was taken or Twittervision.com allows a user to micro blog like with twitter and pinpoint, in real time, where those ‘tweets’ were made.

In the current online world creating mashup serviceware is easily done and could even take a matter of minutes. Non-technical users can use an online tool such as programmableweb.com to enter into the world of application mashups. the service provides how to guides and can connect the user to other sites for information. Users can use these types and information to combine other tools to meet there specific needs. As I’m thinking about this, I can easily imagine that the possibilities are truly endless for the new types of servicewares that can be created. One users needs most likely are different from another users, the demand for new servicewares is ever changing.

Combining multiple things to create a new thing, is not a new concept. Practically all of my life I can think of things that were combined, mashed up, to create something different, but with the resources and information available to practically anyone these days, remixes and mashups can and will be so much more than I could ever imagine. I look forward to see what comes out in the years to come.

4 thoughts on “Response to L&K – Week4, Chapter 4: New literacies and social practices of digital remixing

  1. I actually wrote about song mash-ups in my response as well! Pitch Perfect is a great example – I wish I would have thought of it 😉

    I think that a lot of people think of mash-ups as stealing someone else’s material and putting stuff together but I don’t see it that way. You put a lot of yourself into mash-up and remixes including your own voice. When you mash two things together what is your goal? What impact are you going for?

    Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Amelia Thank for sharing your ideas and experience in this post. I enjoyed your explanation and examples about mashups. I found it very enlightening and clarified many doubts I had after reading the chapter. Like you said combining multiple things to create new ones is not a new concept; but you mentioned an important point: Value. From a teacher’s perspective I think it is extremely important to learn how to integrate and evaluate these experiences. What are the objectives, procedures, lesson learners, and ultimately the pedagogical value of these activities and which are the important variables to consider when incorporating new literacy skills in education.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] After reading chapter four, I realized that I understood more about the why of remixing and that it’s isn’t just a practice to merge, mashup, combine things just because but that in this day and age with the tools and software we have available to us, remixing is now more of an art form. Digitally telling stories by combining sound and vocals that don’t necessarily go together, but can. Taking images and changing the intended meaning to fit a trend or meme. Remixes require, yes I said REQUIRE, creativity. Ok, I’ll say well thought out and executed ones require creativity, bad ones just required the tools. L&K – Chapter 4 […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

