Digital Story Critique #3, Week3 – Native Foods – Where do you get your protein?!

Native foods – Where do you get your protein?!

The Myth of High-Protein Diets

For this review I, I chose what I thought was just a couple paragraph article found on the Native foods blog. However, there was an included article at the end of the native foods story that tied into it. I am including both in this review, since the Native Foods article refers to the New York Times article.

I chose this because it ties into my previous review, regarding vegans and protein.

Content understanding: 10
The informational content of this article is great. Facts and numbers are presented to give meaning and factual evidence to the statements made. Several sites are linked for more information and it is all presented in a easily understood format. Having statistics to back up the information gives the reader a way to relate the information. Just saying “the American population consumes more meat in 2000 than they did in the 1950’s”, doesn’t mean as much to a reader as “Although people have been told for decades to eat less meat and fat, Americans actually consumed 67 percent more added fat, 39 percent more sugar, and 41 percent more meat in 2000 than they had in 1950 and 24.5 percent more calories than they had in 1970, according to the Agriculture Department.” (Dean Ornish, 3/23/15)

Sense of audience: 8
I think the target audience for this article is defined well. The article is more for the meat eating population. Most people that eat a plant-based diet have probably come across this information at different times on their own. Not all, vegans/plant-based diet eaters do research on their own, but if they are like me they are excited to learn as much as they can regarding this topic.

Flow, organization and pacing: 8
I think the flow of the article was effective. Information was provided and then the article moved on. Topics were organized well. The order in which they were presented flowed logically.

Overall: 26

3 thoughts on “Digital Story Critique #3, Week3 – Native Foods – Where do you get your protein?!

  1. Amelia,

    Thank you for critiquing this interesting article! I’m not a vegan or vegetarian, but I wouldn’t consider myself a “meatatarian” either.

    I’m going to have to disagree with you a bit on your first two points. Yes, the content understanding was great, but I did not see mentioned in the article how sedentary we have become in our lifestyle and how that is affecting health outcomes. I agree with the author that the way we eat has a real impact on our health, but so does our exercise (or lack of). A lot of jobs have become desk jobs in the past 30 years, and I do think that has something to do with it.

    Secondly, I do believe that the author does have a good sense of audience. I don’t believe that this was targeted especially at the meat eating audience. I think it had two intents: one, to talk to the meat eaters, and two, to reaffirm to the vegans and vegetarians that what they are doing is good for them.

    Thanks again for the interesting article! I’m always looking to incorporate more plant based foods into my diet and now I have some reliable data to fall back on!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to agree with Lisa about the sedentary lifestyle point she made. Also, the statistic you mention in The New York Times article could be a bit misleading. The stat shows that Americans may be eating more fat, sugar, and meat since the 50s, but we should consider that the American population has boomed since then. Fat, sugar, and meat intake may have grown because there are more people. We need a per capita statistic. Anyway, I also agree that this article is directed at meat eaters. I very much relate to the almond milk reference as I recently gave up milk for almond milk. I’m still able to supplement protein in other ways. Looking at the articles, it’s evident that there are definitely more ways I can adopt a more plant-based diet. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] As soon as you tell someone, you eat a vegan diet the words “Where do you get your protein”? come out of their mouths. Seriously, all of a sudden they are experts at protein sources? If these people had any nutrition background at all, they would be aware that everything that was once living (plants and animals) contain protein. People eating a western diet consume way more protein than was is needed so I guess I understand why they ask the question but it still irritates me (now 3 months into my vegan journey) when someone asks this. Native Foods, Where do you get your Protein? […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

