Digital Story (selected scholarship) Critique #1, Week1 – There’s No Health Argument for Veganism

This is my first post on a critique of a digital story, selected scholarship, more academic. To be honest, I’m not entirely sure I understand the perimeters of this assignment. Since my blog focus for this course is my vegan journey, I am going to seek out digital stories related to this topic. Blending vegan journey and academics is where I get a little lost. Here goes, if I missed the point of the assignment, I’m sure someone will let me know.

LINK: Huff Post GREEN – June 12, 2015

The link above to a digital story that makes the argument that there needs to be a distinction between veganism and a plant-based diet.

As I am still very new to living a vegan lifestyle, so I am eager to take in as much information as I can. The article was effective in sharing the information, to make the reader think about the topic. As I think about the distinction between them, I am a bit torn.

Veganism is a broad term to incorporate; not eating animal products, not wearing animal skins, not using products that were tested on animals, and not going to places that enslave and exploit animals.

People that eat a plant based diet, are looking for the health benefits of such a diet but might not be concerned about the well fare of animals. I did say “might”.

This is where I am a bit torn. As I am learning more and more about the treatment of  animals in farming industries, I feel more and more passionate about treating animals with compassion. I am realistic in my thinking that there will always be people who eat animals, but the way these animals (raised simply to be consumed by humans) are treated shouldn’t bring stress and pain to the animals. I think that these animals should also be feed the diet they are designed to eat, meaning grass not grain and able to live outside of a tightly enclosed space. I am also concerned about animals that are used to be tested on. This too upsets me and I have started to purchase products that are not tested on animals, again no needless stress and pain on the animals. Do I wear leather, no not purposely, but with knowing that animals will most likely always be raised for food consumption, I think that all parts of that animal should be used. Again, if there are people that will always eat animals, there are going to be people that wear leather. Have compassion for these animals and make the most of the loss of their life. Does this mean I’ll purchase leather, no absolutely not but others probably will. I also enjoy going to zoo’s and such. I of course want these animals treated kindly and are in an enclosure of decent size and they have proper water, shade, etc. These animals should also have good veterinary care. Do I want to encourage putting animals into zoos, not necessarily. Capturing animals and enslaving them just for the sake of having a zoo type place for the public, is wrong, but there are animals that need good homes because they can’t go back into the wild. A zoo or animal sanctuary can help these animals live the rest of there lives in a safe place. Allowing visitors to these places, helps pay the bills to feed and care for the animals. I guess I’m somewhere in the middle of being a full fledged vegan and just a person eating a plant based diet.

This one page article that has information on both sides definitely was thought provoking. The writer presented the topic in a way that was knowledgeable and open minded, even bringing in a social aspect. He talked about how many celebrities ‘go vegan’ only to eventually revert back to eating animals after a period of time. Celebrities are not the only ones that go vegan to just end up being an ex-vegan down the road. It happens. Like many, many things, this topic is not black and white. There are many sides. I keep saying it, but I strongly think that no matter what side you are on; meat eater, vegan, vegetarian, plant based diet eaters, you should educate yourself. Then make your choice based on what you have learned, what you believe. Doing something just because a celebrity does it or because its the ‘cool’, ‘trendy’ thing to do, isn’t a good enough reason. We all have the ability to choose, so choose what is right for you.

I’m going in the direction that is right for me. Obviously, I have opinions that aren’t always in one direction on this topic, but that’s just it, they are My Opinions. There is no right or wrong, just choices. Go make some, preferably educated ones. My that’s your choice.

6 thoughts on “Digital Story (selected scholarship) Critique #1, Week1 – There’s No Health Argument for Veganism

  1. Amelia,
    I too am interested in what it means to be vegan. I can say I mostly eat a plant based diet, but I am not a vegan. And I mostly choose to eat a plant based diet for health reasons. After reading the article I agree there is no ‘health argument,’ for veganism because to be vegan is to omit the consumption and support of animal products entirely. How did you use Jason Ohler’s assessment traits (http://www.jasonohler.com/storytelling/assessment.cfm) to critique this article? Have you considered forming a rubric to consume and critique your digital stories? If you used a process of critique and rubric can you share?

    I’m looking forward to learn more about your ‘vegan journey.’

    -Kirk

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Kirk,

      I used Jason Ohler’s assessment traits to help me think about if the article was present effectively, if the writer researched the topic, and if I got anything out of it. After reviewing other critiques, I realize that I need to be more formal, and possibly give a score. This is out of my comfort zone, as it just doesn’t feel right, but I’m sure it will help with my overall review.

      Like

  2. I found the article you reviewed to shed some light on being a vegan. I get so lost in the no meat, no fish, no dairy, gluten free diets. I didn’t realize that you would have to look at labels on the things that you buy, to make sure they are not tested on animals. My question is how you actually go about doing this? I mean clearly Pert Plus doesn’t not say “tested on chimpanzee’s” on the bottle. Do you just look for bottle that says not tested on animals? Good read I look forward to more insight on the matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Annie,

      Your question about ‘how do you know if a product was tested on animals’ is a very valid one. I’m new to this as well. I have started very small. I have started buying products from Whole Foods Market. They do not allow animals testing on any of the products they sell. So that’s where I started. I’m starting small, replacing products when I run out. I’m realistic in that this is a process. I, like most people, don’t have the money to simply throw every thing I have out and purchase everything new. For me, that is not an option, but I can slowly switch over. I like this question, I think I will use it as the focus on my selected scholarship for week two.

      Like

      • I have always wondered how they go about the testing of such practices to begin with. It is crazy to me that they do not have to label products as such. What will be interesting is if the FDA will start labeling things a GMO. I bet you have seen the movie Food Inc. If there was ever a movie to make me think twice about eating meat it would be that film.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, Food Inc and Vegucated both opened my eyes to the terrible treatment of animals in industrial farms. Another one on GMO’s that is good is GMO, OMG!. Definitely makes a person think about what we are putting in and on our bodies.

        Like

Leave a Reply

