Feeling uncertain

Today I spent a lot of time tinkering with all the different social media components to this course and to be honest I don’t think I’m getting very much to stick. I know it’s only day 3 of the semester, but assignments are due tomorrow, my textbook hasn’t arrived, I’m wondering if I got things set up correctly between twitter, flickr, ds106, ucdenver15, UGH! There is so much stuff!!!!!

Deep breath, in . . . out. . . in . . . out.

This is what I get for avoiding twitter even though I originally signed up in 2008. My account was deactivated because I never logged in. If only I knew I was going to pursue this degree and need to fully understand social media. I keep thinking that maybe I missed the boat and now the swim to catch up just might be too great. I’ve skimmed a few of my classmates blogs and it seems like there may be others that have this uncertainty too. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one overwhelmed and freaking out.

It’s all about learning, right? So I’m going to jump in with both feet and swim my hardest to catch that boat. I’m certain there is going to be several near drownings before I get there, so please be patient. If you can tell that I probably need a life preserver, I will be very grateful for the support, so feel free to toss one out to me. I am always open to help, no matter how it gets to me.

What a semester we have in store. I’m excited to be apart of this course, even if all I really want to do is drop the class and hide back under my safe, secure, unsocial rock. I’ve had nothing but positive experiences in my previous courses for this degree, so I’ll stick with it and see you all at the end of the tunnel, in August.

4 thoughts on “Feeling uncertain

  1. We are all in this together! Keep doing what you are doing. I think part of Remi’s strategy is to make us feel uncertain in order to ask for help from peers and be inquisitive. Engaged social learning is the mantra. Don’t forget to check Canvas. Remi added some guidance to the critiques and reading response yesterday. Btw I just started using Twitter like 2 weeks ago so…. #newb

    Liked by 1 person

  2. the beauty of social learning: we’re all here to help and learn…just ask-anything!
    Don’t be afraid to fail. It’s a big part of the process.
    The goal is YOUR learning trek not how you compare to everyone else. Where are you starting from, where do you end up and how did you get there.
    Relax and have fun with it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] Just a random post, not really expecting anything out of it. Just getting some thoughts out and I was pleasantly surprised that three of my fellow classmates commented to give me support. I was very appreciative of the support and should have responded to them each individually. Staying on top of comments and connections with others is still not a strength of mine in regards to this course. I at the very least ‘liked’ any and all comments to support the people that took the time to write them, though I certainly could have and should have replied with a ‘Thank You’. Many of my classmates are great, caring and supportive people. It was nice to be able to experience a course like this with them.Β  Feeling uncertain […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

